5 Makeup Tips and Tricks for Mature Skin

Makeup Tips For Women Over 40I woke up the morning of my 40th birthday, and began my makeup application as usual.  I have had the same routine for years, so it was very second nature.  This time however, it was all wrong!  It was as if I suddenly forgot what I was doing; as if my face was no longer my own.  The color was off, the product placement was off, and I was looking “older”.  Mature skin. I knew it was coming; I just thought I had more time.

Don’t get me wrong. I am comfortable with my age of 44.  Okay, 44 1/2 to be exact.  I have earned my laugh lines; every one of them!  I just did not realize that there would come a time when everything I knew about makeup would change; at least for me. So the research began.  I read countless blogs, and yes: even watched the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills to see what they were doing.

Then I got real.

During my research, I came across a book written by Lois Joy Johnson; a top beauty editor and Sandy Linter; a celebrity makeup artist entitled: Makeup Wakeup. Revitalizing Your Look At Any Age.  It was like they wrote it for me.  This book provides a plethora of informative information, and it literally changed my life, and the way I see myself in the mirror these days.  After reading it, I knew there were other women out there that could be encouraged and confident about aging gracefully. we have options!  It is now time to look at makeup differently!  Although there are countless makeup tips in this book, I decided to highlight my top 5 faves.

The Problem:The Apples Are Gone! Well, Not Really

How many times have we heard the phrase “apply blush to the apples of your cheeks”? That phrase has been around for as long as time itself, but who knew that they, along with our other body parts are no longer front and center?

The Fix: We must now apply our blush on our cheek bones because our apples are lower than they were yesterday!

The Problem: Powder Is Not Your Friend!

This might take some getting used to!  By powder, I mean conventional finishing powders that contain talc and cornstarch.  Too much can make the skin appear older as these powders settle into fine lines and can further dry out the skin. The exception to this powder rule is Mineral Powder which settles on top of the skin; not into it.  When using a mineral powder foundation, be sure to brush the excess powder away with a clean powder brush, concentrating on areas where powder likes to settle; around the nose, mouth and brows.

The Fix: Use finishing powder on your T-Zone and under the cheeks; never under them.  And remember that less is more.  You will be amazed at how fresh and supple your skin looks by stepping away from the powder!

The Problem: Foundation Is Now A Must, But You May Need to Change It Up

We used to be able to face the day with a fresh face right out of the shower.  Those days are now gone. Foundation can give you fresher, healthier looking skin while minimizing the look of sun damage.

The Fix:  Remember the days when you did use foundation, but used it evenly all over your face?  Forget it. Make your foundation work harder than your concealer. Your foundation must now be applied sheer in some areas, and layered in others where you need better coverage.  Apply it before concealer.  You may be surprised at how much less concealer you will use later.  Stay away from cool shades that contain pink. At this stage in the game, pink looks pink no matter how you apply it. Gear towards warmer shades like honey, almond, nude, etc.. Warmer shades make your skin look more real and healthy. Consider boosting your shade a couple of notches.  Most women choose foundation shades too light for them.  That was a big lesson learned for this girl!  You don’t want your foundation shade to just disappear into the skin.  A little more color makes the skin look youthful and warm.

The Problem: Over Correcting the Flaws

We may have dark circles under the eyes and signs of sun damage.  This can be corrected, but can be easily overdone.  Too much concealer and/or corrector can tend to look heavily caked on, accentuating flaws and wrinkles.

The Fix: Most women use more concealer than foundation, and in your younger years, you can get away with it.  If you must use a concealer, apply foundation first, starting at the jawline and working in.  Lightly press your concealer/corrector over the areas of concern with a small concealer brush.  Do not brush over them, as you will wipe it away. Follow with a light layer of foundation to even out the skin tone.  If you need to conceal under eye circles, consider using a highlighting wand as opposed to a concealer/corrector underneath the eyes to brighten them.  Liquid highlighter is thinner in consistency than concealer.  It’s light reflecting properties will deflect attention from this area while looking smooth and not overdone.

The Problem: Over-plucking the Brows

Most women at some point go overboard when cleaning up their brows.  I am a serious offender!  When I look back at older photos I cringe at the sight of my untamed, bushy brows.  Maybe that’s why I have seriously plucked ever stray hair thanks to those awful magnifying mirrors!  Brows are so important as they frame the face while making you look more youthful.  Fuller brows are now in again, and although we don’t need to necessarily go down that road, we need to make a commitment to allow some regrowth along with regular maintenance. Have you noticed a gray brow hair in the midst?  Don’t even think about plucking it as it won’t grow back. Whoops; lesson learned!

The Fix: If you are a serious brow plucking offender like myself, step away from the magnifier and allow for regrowth.  Be patient. This takes time. In the meantime, learn to reshape your brows.  Makeup can help get them back on track along with correcting the mistakes you may have made in the past.  Only three things need to be done to maintain your brows: correct the overall shape, fill sparse areas and control coarse hairs.  Filling in the areas that need regrowth can be done with a pencil, brow wax or brow powder.  I prefer to use brow powder as it does not look drawn on and appears more natural.  Choose a shade that matches your natural brow color or one shade lighter. Fill in the bare areas first and then cover the entire brow lightly with a brow brush to keep color consistency.  Don’t try to make one brow mirror the other.  Each brow is different and creates character.

Although we have certainly not covered all there is to know about managing aging skin with makeup, we believe this is a good place to begin.  So go ahead! Consider your new options and change the way you think about makeup.

For a Daily Dose of Gorgeous, visit the website  The Daily Dimmick; hosted by our new friend and inspiration on all things beauty, Stephen Dimmick.

Reference: Makeup Wakeup by Joy Johnson and Sandy Linter

Comments

  1. loiswstern says:

    Some helpful advice above. As far as concealer, one trick I have found helpful is to first dab a bit of foundation on my face, wet my first two fingers and apply the foundation smoothing it a bit thinner in some areas than others. You will know where you need more and less coverage!

  2. I agree Lois! I think women assume that foundation is to be applied evenly over the face. By layering only where we need it, we not only look less “made up”, we save on product as well. :)

  3. I like your post! The way you look on the inside is certainly the most important component of beauty. Great share this to my wife!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,461 other followers

